Classic Holiday Cabaret CDs: Andrea Marcovicci

My Christmas Song For You 

Andrea Marcovicci’s December stint at the Oak Room is a holiday tradition for many people.  So although she’s never done a Christmas show, a holiday CD from her — My Christmas Wish for You — makes perfect sense.

The tracks on My Christmas Wish for You are standards and a few obscurities filtered through Marcovicci’s specific cabaret sensibilities.  And Shelly Markham has arranged the selections with lush orchestrations for a large instrumental ensemble.  Marcovicci’s version of the big band classic Blue Champagne is my personal favorite, conjuring up images of a chic, sophisticated, slightly dishabille holiday interlude.

 1 White Christmas

2 The Christmas Waltz
3 It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas
4 Silver Bells
5 Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
6 I’ll Be Home For Christmas / You’d Be So Nice to Come Home To
7 The Christmas Song (chestnuts Roasting)
8 Blue Champagne
9 The Gift
10 Sleigh Ride
11 Winter Wonderland / Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!
12 I Heard the Bells On Christmas Day
13 Chrismas Lullaby / All Through the Night
14 Silent Night
15 My Christmas Song For You

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: