Tommy Tune at Strathmore II

The always-wonderful Beverly Cosham sent this report in about Tommy Tune’s Strathmore show.

TOMMY TUNE
In
“STEPS IN TIME: A BROADWAY BIOGRAPHY IN SONG AND DANCE”
Featuring
The Manhattan Rhythm Kings

 

Tommy Tune made his Strathmore debut last night at the Music Center with his musical biography covering his fifty years as a director, choreographer, singer, dancer, and actor. Mr. Tune was joined on stage by the Manhattan Rhythm Kings, Hal Shane, Brian Nalepka, and Scott Leiendecker , along with Michael Blagl, musical director and piano, Bobby Hirshhorn, keyboard, and John Meyers, drums. The winner of nine Tony Awards and the recipient of five Lifetime Achievement Awards presented a splendid evening of song and dance that gave a mere glimpse into a most amazing journey from Wichita Falls, TX to the Great White Way. Time has been kind to Mr. Tune who maintains fluidity and grace in his movements. The use of the “time step” in tap was a clever device to introduce the different sections of his life. The tapping by Mr. Tune and the Manhattan Rhythm Kings was superb. So there is no irony when he sings “I’m Glad I’m Not Young Anymore.” The evening’s anecdotes were often amusing but the remembrance of Charles “Honey” Coles was poignant, reverent, and wistful. The performance was seamless and the evening ended with the crowd begging for more. (Reviewed by Beverly Cosham)

SONG LIST

Hey, There, Good Times
Move On
Tall Hope
I’m Leaving Texas
(You Gotta Have) Heart
M-O-T-H-E-R
Uncle Sam Rag
Strike Up the Band
Medley: I’ve Grown Accustomed to Her Face, Sometimes A Day Goes By, and Losing My Mind
Feeling Too Good Today Blues
Won’t You Charleston With Me
I’m Old Fashioned
I’m Glad I’m Not Young Anymore
Seesaw
Married
Dream Your Dream
September Song
Reprise: I’m Glad I’m Not Young Anymore
I Can’t Be Bothered Now
Medley of Gershwin Tunes: Nice Work if You Can Get It, I Got Rhythm, They Can’t Take That Away From Me, Embraceable You, and Stairway to Paradise
Lord, Help Me, I Love It (not sure – special material)

Leave a Reply

