Barbara Cook at the Kennedy Center…

 A real “wowie” show from Barbara Cook at the Kennedy Center.  My favorite moment wasn’t a singing one, though.  When several audience members shouted “I love you!,” Cook responded, “Well, Hon, I want to tell you I love you, and I love doing this!”

Cook’s performance seemed deeper, edgier, and riskier than in recent memory.  And of course, she had that terrific Barbara Cook standard of quality.  And her music director / pianist Lee Musiker came up with great stuff and bassist Peter Donovan provided great support.  Interestingly Cook has added a drum to her stage ensemble and the work of James Saporito certainly justified his presence there.

WPAS’s ticket offers had me a little concerned about attendance, but there was a good crowd in the hall.  (And I’m glad that I ran into a couple of blog readers who were able to take advantage of the $10 tix.)

I’ll link to my “official” review when Cabaret Scenes posts it.  Here’s her set list:

  • There’s a Rainbow ‘Round My Shoulder
  • It Might As Well Be Spring
  • A Wonderful Guy
  • Cookin’ Breakfast for the One I Love
  • I Had Myself a True Love
  • No One Is Alone
  • I’m Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter / I Wish I Could Forget You
  • Nashville Nightengale
  • I Got Lost In His Arms
  • Sooner or Later
  • Lover, Come Back to Me
  • I’m Through With Love / Smile
  • My Dog Loves Your Dog
  • This Nearly Was Mine
  • Lost in the Stars / No More
  • Hallelujah, I’m In Love
  • Encore off mike — For All We Know

And don’t forget, Cook will be doing an interview Tuesday night, Feb 10, at 7:00pm.  Details.

Leave a Reply

