Jennifer Pade on Water Bottles

jennifer-padeThe lovely, ridiculously talented,  Jennifer Pade offers an opinion:

Hi Michael, 
 
Just had to send you this note after attending a cabaret performance at the Duplex in NYC tonight. I would love to see you do a column/post on the current ubiquitousness of plastic water bottles on stage in live performances. From Maureen McGovern to the girl next door, I’m amazed at how many singers swig out of those bottles onstage, as though they’re standing on the street rather than onstage and dressed to the nines. What ever happened to an elegant setting? 
Or maybe a posting about this kind of casualness that has crept into performing in general (and I’m not talking about being salacious or naughty — but rather the same kind of casualness you see everywhere today.) Maybe I’m just getting older, but it seems to me it has no place onstage. 
 
Just had to get that off my chest. Hope you and Ron are well. And I’m thoroughly enjoying the blog! 
 
Down with plastic water bottles! 
 
best, 
Jennifer Pade
 
A celebrity spokesperson offers a rebuttal.

5 Responses to Jennifer Pade on Water Bottles

  1. Matt says:

    I got little shivers of excitement in 2006 when the stagehand came out and filled up Streisand’s tea service set with water before her concert began. Streisand’s always had a small table onstage with a teapot, teacup, and a rose — even when she played the New York supper clubs in the 60s.

  2. Dorie says:

    I totally agree–I liked the martini glass that Marianne Glass Miller sipped onstage at her recent show. Nice, elegant touch!

  3. Chris Cochran says:

    While a glass filled with water on stage is a disaster waiting to happen, I have to agree that it’s much nicer than unscrewing a plastic bottle and taking a swig. Even pouring from the bottle into a glass first would be a step up, don’t you think?

  4. Emily Leatha Everson says:

    This is a great discussion. I’m excited to see the creative ways people come up with to take a sip while performing! I sure hope they do! Maybe to fit the drinking method to the song sets. Like if you’re singing camp songs, have a canteen. Or songs about a boozer, take a hit from a hip flask. I loved Marianne’s martini glass…that was real courage…and sooooooo classy.

  5. Karen says:

    I live in Las Vegas-let me tell you this desert climate with smoking everywhere-its difficult at best to keep a clean, healthy voice. While I don’t like having the water bottle on stage, I prefer that my voice is safe and sound for the audience. Its not my favorite choice-but I do feel its necessary.

Leave a Reply

