Moira Danis salutes Petula Clark

moiradanis2Moira Danis’s CD, Beautiful Sounds — The Songs of Petula Clark is a canny tribute to the Downtown gal.

Danis offers a well-balanced selection of songs from all aspects of Clark’s career, from those great Tony Hatch songs of the 60’s to Clark’s ventures into the last gasp of movie musicals and her current stage work.  I think Danis does a good job of balancing a tribute to Clark’s sound on tracks such as I Know a Place and injecting her own personality such as her relaxed take on Downtown.  She also devotes considerable time to lesser-known songs, especially those penned by Clark. 

Here are the tracks:

  • Beautiful Sounds
  • I Know A Place
  • Who Am I
  • I Will Follow Him
  • Two Rivers
  • My Love
  • Don’t Sleep in the Subway
  • City of Dreams
  • Look to the Rainbow
  • Fly Away/Tomorrow With Me/You and I
  • You’re the One
  • Now That You’ve Gone
  • Things Bright and Beautiful
  • The Sound of Music
  • Tell Me It’s Not True
  • Getting the Right Thing Wrong
  • Downtown
  • Here For You 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: