Steve Ross Sings Alan Jay Lerner

Steve RossIt feels like Christmas has come early this year (and not just at Costco).  Steve Ross has a new CD, I Remember Him Well: The Songs of Alan Jay Lerner.

The CD is a live recording from his stand at the Algonquin earlier this year.  All the trademark Steve Ross strengths come across on the CD, the impeccable taste in material, the variety of well known material and Steve Ross discoveries, the superb musicianship at the piano and the impeccable phrasing and connection in the performance.

My two favorite tracks are a tenderly understated, wistful reading of The Heather on the Hill and a hysterical discovery, I’ve Been Married, an energetic complaint about the matrimonial state.  I also love that he frames Come Back to Me as a plea for his audience to return to future shows!

Here are the tracks:

1. I’m On My Way
2. I Never Met A Rose
3. My Last Love
4. I Talk to the Treeslisten
5. Hurry! It’s Lovely Up Herelisten
6. It’s Time For a Love Song/If Ever I Would Leave You
7. Try Love
8. I’ve Been Married
9. Dancing My Blues Away
10. On a Clear Day You Can See Forever
11. I Remember It Well
12. Gigi Medly
13. The Heather On The Hill
14. With A Little Bit Of Luck
15. Too Late Now / What Did I Have That I Don’t Have
16. Come Back To Melisten
17. Almost Like Being In Love / Wouldn’t It Be Loverlylisten
Leave a Reply

