Chita Rivera in Playbill Online

Chita RiveraThe Playbill Online Diva Talk column has a great interview with Chita Rivera discussing her terrific new CD:

Question: How did you go about choosing the songs?

Rivera: I’ve just got this unbelievable repertoire of theatre songs. So Michael decided, why don’t we do our show and just change all the arrangements. Give them another face. And that’s what we’ve done. I think that, should I do another album, which I think I would like to do, I think probably I would then do [a jazz CD]… I used to talk to Rosemary Clooney, who was a friend, and I would say, “That’s what I want to do at some time in my life! I want to sing some Johnny Mercer. I want to sing some fabulous jazz composers’ songs.” I think this is a step towards that.

Plus it has reviews of the new Liz Callaway, Rebecca Luker, and Kate Baldwin CDs.

Leave a Reply

