Dancing in Song…

And Now I Swing

  • Chita Rivera’s new CD, And Now I Swing, shows off what the dancer can do when we can’t see her. 

Musically, she’s a terrific storyteller who encompasses many moods.  Her version of Not Exactly Paris wrings every bit of poignancy out of the song while I Won’t Dance / Let Me Sing has an exquisite playfulness. 

To me, the most fascianting (and thinking about it unsurprising) strength of Rivera’s musical performance is her amazing sense of the beat.  This especially shows on the tricky timing of Carousel that she makes a easy but stunning showstopper.

  • I Won’t Dance / Let me Sing
  • Nowadays
  • Where Am I Going ?
  • Sweet Happy Life / Mas Que Nada
  • Love and Love Alone
  • Carousel
  • Not Exactly Paris
  • I Don’t Remember You
  • More Than You Know
  • Circle of Friends
  • A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square 
Leave a Reply

