Jennifer Blades at Don’t Tell Mama

It was thrilling to be at Don’t Tell Mama last night for Jennifer Blades’s NY cabaret debut.  She presented her show, My Funny Valentine, with a lot of great material ruminating on the theme of love.

Jennifer looked stunning — all Titian tresses, flowing over a black lace top, heirloom silver and jet necklace, and palazzo pants.  And of course she sounded even better.  She particularly scored with an achingly lovely Blue Fool and a charming exuberant version of Noel Coward’s Nina.

Having seen the first incarnation of the show at An Die Musik, I have to congratulate Team Blades for all the work that they’ve done on the project.  Rick Jensen did his usually stunning job as music director, not only accompanying her but also providing seamless underscoring and transitions between numbers.  And Lina Koutrakos’s direction really helped bring structure to the material and brought out the best in Blades. 

And I mean the following in the nicest way — you would never know that she was an opera singer slumming in cabaret.  Much more Eileen Farrell than Elly Ameling !

Here’s her song list:

  • Hurray for Love
  • That’s Him
  • My Romance
  • You Should Have Told Me
  • Shakespeare Lied
  • Blue Fool
  • The Boy From…
  • Losing My Mind
  • Echoes of My Life
  • Time Heals Everything
  • Murder He Says
  • Not While I’m Around / Sleepy Man
  • I Get a Kick Out of You / I’ve Got You Under My Skin
  • Nina
  • Fable
  • My Funny Valentine
One Response to Jennifer Blades at Don’t Tell Mama

  1. Congratulations Jennifer!

Leave a Reply

