Mary Testa in Playbill Online

Mary TestaGreat interview in Playbill Online with one of the more singular talents out there: “My problem is, though, I cannot put together, and nor can Michael – Michael and I have worked together for years, and we’re very good at working together – we cannot seem to put together a really commercial show. [Laughs.] Our shows are always really left of center, with a lot of material people don’t know and new stuff and concepts that are not your usual “cabaret acts,” ’cause we’re not really into that. Jason Graae is a dear friend of mine, and I was talking to him yesterday, and he was like, “Can you please put a show together that has standards in it?” [Laughs.] And I was just like, “I just can’t! I just seem to not [be able] to. It doesn’t call to me.” But we are doing the brand-new show July 12, and I’m excited about it. It’s kind of wonderful, actually.”

One Response to Mary Testa in Playbill Online

  1. I watched a panel interview last year sometime that included Mary Testa and Michael John LaChiusa. Ms. Testa said (with a chuckle) something like “I’ve clawed my way to the middle!” What a fabulous thing to say. She might have clawed her way to “middle-fame,” but talent wise she’s right on top.

Leave a Reply

