Liz Callaway & Lauren Kennedy On Playbill

December 13, 2007

Interesting interview with Lauren Kennedy (top) about her terrific new CD, “Here and Now” and a review of Liz Callaway (bottom)at the Metropolitan Room in Playbill online.

Lauren Kennedy CD

December 4, 2007

 People who know me know that nothing raises a red flag to me more than people who say “They don’t write them like they used to.”  OK, they never did.  But there’s alot of amazing writing going on.  And Lauren Kennedy’s new CD, appropriately named Here and Now presents a terrific selection of material by some of today’s best cabaret and theater writers such as Jason Robert Brown, Georgia Stitt, David Yazbek, Marcy Heisler and Zina Goldrich, and Adam Guettel.  It will be interesting to revisit this CD in 10 years and see how many of these songs currently less-well-known songs  are considered standards.

The CD is also beautifully orchestrated and sung.  A hit all the way around!

Here are the tracks:

  • Here I Am

  • Spread a Little Joy

  • Unanswered Question

  • My Lifelong Love

  • Pretending That I’m Somebody Else

  • Just Not now

  • In This Room

  • Through the Mountain

  • Mr. Hopalong Heartbreak 

  • Easy 

  • Apathetic Man 

  • I’m Free 

  • You’ll Want Me to Shine

Here are the tracks:

Pre-Sale at PS Classics

October 27, 2007

PS Classics has an interesting offer.  They have a pre-release price for a package of CDs by Victoria Clark (star of The Light in the Piazza), Andrea Burns, and Lauren Kennedy for $39.95.  For another ten bucks, you can throw in the new(?) recording Jonathan sings Larson, posthumously released demo tracks recorded by Jonathan Larson (Rent).