Moira Danis salutes Petula Clark

August 26, 2009

moiradanis2Moira Danis’s CD, Beautiful Sounds — The Songs of Petula Clark is a canny tribute to the Downtown gal.

Danis offers a well-balanced selection of songs from all aspects of Clark’s career, from those great Tony Hatch songs of the 60’s to Clark’s ventures into the last gasp of movie musicals and her current stage work.  I think Danis does a good job of balancing a tribute to Clark’s sound on tracks such as I Know a Place and injecting her own personality such as her relaxed take on Downtown.  She also devotes considerable time to lesser-known songs, especially those penned by Clark. 

Here are the tracks:

  • Beautiful Sounds
  • I Know A Place
  • Who Am I
  • I Will Follow Him
  • Two Rivers
  • My Love
  • Don’t Sleep in the Subway
  • City of Dreams
  • Look to the Rainbow
  • Fly Away/Tomorrow With Me/You and I
  • You’re the One
  • Now That You’ve Gone
  • Things Bright and Beautiful
  • The Sound of Music
  • Tell Me It’s Not True
  • Getting the Right Thing Wrong
  • Downtown
  • Here For You